Evidence dossier

CVE-2026-16812

VeloCloud Orchestrator OS Command Injection

Exploited in the wild (CISA KEV since Jul 27, 2026). Arista reports CVSS 4.0 10.0. EPSS estimates 1.6% exploit likelihood as of Aug 27, 2026.

67.574.3Priority evidence range
Evidence current through Aug 27, 2026, 6:09 PM UTC

As of Aug 27, 2026

Normalized restatement

VeloCloud Orchestrator (VCO) on-prem has a security issue where this issue may allow a remote attacker to access privileged internal functionality and impact the VCO host. Successful exploitation may compromise the confidentiality, integrity, and availability of the orchestrator and data managed by the orchestrator. This functionality was intended to be for internal use only and is not intended to be remotely accessible. Hosted and Dedicated versions of VCO have already been patched in advance of this notice going out. This issue was discovered externally and is known to be actively exploited.

State
PUBLISHED
Published
Jul 27, 2026
Updated
Jul 28, 2026
Evidence coverage
85%

Evidence chronology

What was known when

Download this view's receipt →
  1. Source dateFirst observed by CASCA
    CISA KEV

    Exploitation cataloged: Arista VeloCloud Orchestrator On-Prem OS Command Injection Vulnerability

    Inspect raw assertion
    Field
    observed_exploitation
    Value
    Arista VeloCloud Orchestrator On-Prem OS Command Injection Vulnerability
    Original evidence ↗
  2. Source dateSource date omittedFirst observed by CASCA
    Arista

    Record text: VeloCloud Orchestrator OS Command Injection

    Inspect raw assertion
    Field
    container
    Value
    VeloCloud Orchestrator OS Command Injection
    Original evidence ↗
  3. Source dateSource date omittedFirst observed by CASCA
    CISA-ADP

    Record text: CISA ADP Vulnrichment

    Inspect raw assertion
    Field
    container
    Value
    CISA ADP Vulnrichment
    Original evidence ↗
  4. Source dateFirst observed by CASCA
    FIRST EPSS

    EPSS score: 1.57% probability · 73.52th percentile

    Inspect raw assertion
    Field
    model_probability
    Value
    Probability 0.015680000000; percentile 0.735190000000
    Original evidence ↗
ExploitationCatalog member

CISA KEV · catalog date Jul 27, 2026 · first observed Aug 1, 2026

Exploit likelihood1.57%

FIRST EPSS · score date Aug 27, 2026 · 73.5th percentile · first observed Aug 27, 2026

SeverityCVSS 10.0

Arista · CVSS 4.0 · first observed Aug 1, 2026 · same-version scores align in this snapshot

Evidence detail

Source limits and decisions

Why each evidence state has this value

casca-unknown-reasons-v1
Exploitation statusEvidence supported

Eligible evidence is present for this bounded claim.

Revision
evidence-policy-v1.1.0
Cutoff
Aug 27, 2026
Resolution
None
Exploit likelihoodEvidence supported

Eligible evidence is present for this bounded claim.

Revision
evidence-policy-v1.1.0
Cutoff
Aug 27, 2026
Resolution
None
Severity assessmentEvidence supported

Eligible evidence is present for this bounded claim.

Revision
casca-direct-cvss-eligibility-v1
Cutoff
Aug 27, 2026
Resolution
None
Affected productsSource-reported scope

The cited source assertion is retained while canonical product linkage remains open.

Revision
casca-factor-d-obligations-v1
Cutoff
Aug 27, 2026
Resolution
Resolve identity

Source comparison

Who said what

CISA KEVOriginal assertion
Exploitation cataloged

Arista VeloCloud Orchestrator On-Prem OS Command Injection Vulnerability

Inspect raw assertion
Field
observed_exploitation
Value
Arista VeloCloud Orchestrator On-Prem OS Command Injection Vulnerability
Source dateFirst observed by CASCAOriginal evidence ↗
AristaOriginal assertion
Record text

VeloCloud Orchestrator OS Command Injection

Inspect raw assertion
Field
container
Value
VeloCloud Orchestrator OS Command Injection
Source dateSource date omittedFirst observed by CASCAOriginal evidence ↗
CISA-ADPIndependent enrichment
Record text

CISA ADP Vulnrichment

Inspect raw assertion
Field
container
Value
CISA ADP Vulnrichment
Source dateSource date omittedFirst observed by CASCAOriginal evidence ↗
FIRST EPSSOriginal assertion
EPSS score

1.57% probability · 73.52th percentile

Inspect raw assertion
Field
model_probability
Value
Probability 0.015680000000; percentile 0.735190000000
Source dateFirst observed by CASCAOriginal evidence ↗

Applicability

Cited product scope

Trace impact →

5 scope groups

Arista · source assertedArista NetworksVeloCloud Orchestrator On-PremDirect source scope
Affected: 5.2.0 to before 5.2.3.14 (custom comparison)Affected: 6.1.0 to before 6.1.3.4 (custom comparison)Affected: 6.4.0 to before 6.4.2.4 (custom comparison)Affected: 7.0.0 to before 7.0.0.1 (custom comparison)
Source-reported scope

Canonical linkage remains open; the cited source assertion is retained below.

Inspect raw assertion[{"status": "affected", "version": "5.2.0", "lessThan": "5.2.3.14", "versionType": "custom"}, {"status": "affected", "version": "6.1.0", "lessThan": "6.1.3.4", "versionType": "custom"}, {"status": "affected", "version": "6.4.0", "lessThan": "6.4.2.4", "versionType": "custom"}, {"status": "affected", "version": "7.0.0", "lessThan": "7.0.0.1", "versionType": "custom"}]
NVD · source assertedVendor unspecified by sourceProduct unspecified by sourceDirect source scope
Version bounds not stated
Scope supported
Inspect raw assertioncpe:2.3:a:arista:velocloud_orchestrator:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*; start including 5.2.0; end excluding 5.2.3.14
NVD · source assertedVendor unspecified by sourceProduct unspecified by sourceDirect source scope
Version bounds not stated
Scope supported
Inspect raw assertioncpe:2.3:a:arista:velocloud_orchestrator:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*; start including 6.1.0; end excluding 6.1.3.4
NVD · source assertedVendor unspecified by sourceProduct unspecified by sourceDirect source scope
Version bounds not stated
Scope supported
Inspect raw assertioncpe:2.3:a:arista:velocloud_orchestrator:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*; start including 6.4.0; end excluding 6.4.2.4
NVD · source assertedVendor unspecified by sourceProduct unspecified by sourceDirect source scope
Version bounds not stated
Scope supported
Inspect raw assertioncpe:2.3:a:arista:velocloud_orchestrator:7.0.0:*:*:*:*:*:*:*

Affected-product evidence

Accepted scope and product mapping

0 canonical links · 2 source-reported links

Source-reported scopeSource-reported scope

Canonical linkage remains open; the cited source assertion is retained below.

Vendor specified only by source · Product specified only by source

Source class
Direct cve affected
Assertions
1
Mapping revision
cpe23-exact-mapping-v1
Observed cutoff
Aug 27, 2026
Retained assertion IDs
b3c14dd1-5728-4017-a2a1-38082f46305e
Source-reported scopeSource-reported scope

Canonical linkage remains open; the cited source assertion is retained below.

Vendor specified only by source · Product specified only by source

Source class
Nvd cpe vulnerable target
Assertions
4
Mapping revision
cpe23-exact-mapping-v1
Observed cutoff
Aug 27, 2026
Retained assertion IDs
4bcb414d-f548-485c-9e40-8ca5d4175b09625ccc17-9b74-42dc-8f42-6d01328cc6c6e07b0029-5db9-4cc5-bf13-8ed4fb097eb2f69d8c1f-b6f8-4d43-be2b-86eaf6d454b3

Assessments

CVSS by origin

10.0
psirt@arista.comCVSS 4.0 · role Secondary · priority eligiblevalid_matchCVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:N/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:H/SC:H/SI:H/SA:H/E:X/CR:X/IR:X/AR:X/MAV:X/MAC:X/MAT:X/MPR:X/MUI:X/MVC:X/MVI:X/MVA:X/MSC:X/MSI:X/MSA:X/S:P/AU:X/R:X/V:X/RE:X/U:X
10.0
psirt@arista.comCVSS 3.1 · role Secondary · priority eligiblevalid_matchCVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:H
10.0
AristaCVSS 4.0 · role unknown · display onlyDirect record assessment retained outside normalized eligibilityCVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:N/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:H/SC:H/SI:H/SA:H/S:P
10.0
AristaCVSS 3.1 · role unknown · display onlyDirect record assessment retained outside normalized eligibilityCVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:H

Direct CVE/CNA normalized decisions

10.0Priority eligible

Arista

CVSS 4.0 · Primary · Original assertion · rank 1

CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:N/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:H/SC:H/SI:H/SA:H/S:P
Validation
Valid match
Recomputed
10.0
Decision reason
Evidence supported
Policy
casca-direct-cvss-eligibility-v1
10.0Priority eligible

Arista

CVSS 3.1 · Primary · Original assertion · rank 1

CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:H
Validation
Valid match
Recomputed
10.0
Decision reason
Evidence supported
Policy
casca-direct-cvss-eligibility-v1

Assessments are retained side by side under closed precedence. Cascade never averages CVSS.

Evidence boundaries

  • KEV membership is authoritative for the catalog, not proof of exposure in any environment.
  • EPSS is a dated model probability and not an individual-environment prediction.
  • Affected or fixed status applies only to the exact cited product and version scope; remaining scope stays source-scoped.
  • NVD-carried upstream facts remain derivative; independent corroboration requires a separately authored source.
  • Only NVD metrics validated under the generation-bound calculator are Public Priority eligible; direct CVE record metrics remain display-only.
  • NVD CVSS source eligibility is closed: NVD-authored, exact record-source, or registered same-CVE container origin; unmapped sources remain display-only.
  • Core replay supports the active and immediately prior generation; retrospective valid-at replay is deferred.
  • OSV aggregation and OSV-converted NVD material are not independent corroboration.
  • Red Hat facts are vendor assertions for the exact supplied products.
  • Nonmembership and not-yet-observed states are not proof of safety.