Evidence dossier

CVE-2026-82078

PaperCut MF/NG: Unsafe Dynamic Class Loading in Database Connector

Exploited in the wild (CISA KEV since Aug 31, 2026). PaperCut reports CVSS 4.0 9.4. EPSS estimates 63.5% exploit likelihood as of Oct 22, 2026.

79.4–87.4Priority evidence range
Evidence through Oct 22, 2026, 6:07 PM UTC

As of Oct 22, 2026

Normalized restatement

An unsafe dynamic class loading vulnerability exists in the database connection utilities of PaperCut MF and PaperCut NG. The application instantiates database driver classes based on configurable driver names without validating against an allowlist of approved drivers. If an attacker can manipulate system configuration parameters, this enables the execution of arbitrary Java bytecode residing on the application classpath under the security context of the PaperCut server process.

State
PUBLISHED
Published
Aug 28, 2026
Updated
Sep 13, 2026
Evidence coverage
85%

Evidence chronology

What was known when

Download this view's receipt →
  1. Source dateFirst observed by CASCA
    CISA KEV

    Exploitation cataloged: PaperCut NG/MF Unsafe Reflection Vulnerability

    Inspect raw assertion
    Field
    observed_exploitation
    Value
    PaperCut NG/MF Unsafe Reflection Vulnerability
    Original evidence ↗
  2. Source dateSource date omittedFirst observed by CASCA
    CISA-ADP

    Record text: CISA ADP Vulnrichment

    Inspect raw assertion
    Field
    container
    Value
    CISA ADP Vulnrichment
    Original evidence ↗
  3. Source dateSource date omittedFirst observed by CASCA
    PaperCut

    Record text: PaperCut MF/NG: Unsafe Dynamic Class Loading in Database Connector

    Inspect raw assertion
    Field
    container
    Value
    PaperCut MF/NG: Unsafe Dynamic Class Loading in Database Connector
    Original evidence ↗
  4. Source dateFirst observed by CASCA
    FIRST EPSS

    EPSS score: 63.53% probability · 99.21th percentile

    Inspect raw assertion
    Field
    model_probability
    Value
    Probability 0.635320000000; percentile 0.992130000000
    Original evidence ↗
ExploitationCatalog member

CISA KEV · catalog date Aug 31, 2026 · first observed Sep 1, 2026

Exploit likelihood63.53%

FIRST EPSS · score date Oct 22, 2026 · 99.2th percentile · first observed Oct 22, 2026

SeverityCVSS 9.4

PaperCut · CVSS 4.0 · first observed Sep 14, 2026 · same-version scores align in this snapshot

Evidence detail

Source limits and decisions

Why each evidence state has this value

casca-unknown-reasons-v1
Exploitation statusLast verified source snapshot retained

The last verified source boundary remains in force for this claim.

Revision
evidence-policy-v1.1.0
Cutoff
Oct 22, 2026
Resolution
Review source contract
Exploit likelihoodEvidence supported

Eligible evidence is present for this bounded claim.

Revision
evidence-policy-v1.1.0
Cutoff
Oct 22, 2026
Resolution
None
Severity assessmentEvidence supported

Eligible evidence is present for this bounded claim.

Revision
casca-direct-cvss-eligibility-v1
Cutoff
Oct 22, 2026
Resolution
None
Affected productsSource-reported scope

The cited source assertion is retained while canonical product linkage remains open.

Revision
casca-factor-d-obligations-v1
Cutoff
Oct 22, 2026
Resolution
Resolve identity

Source comparison

Who said what

CISA KEVOriginal assertion
Exploitation cataloged

PaperCut NG/MF Unsafe Reflection Vulnerability

Inspect raw assertion
Field
observed_exploitation
Value
PaperCut NG/MF Unsafe Reflection Vulnerability
Source dateFirst observed by CASCAOriginal evidence ↗
CISA-ADPIndependent enrichment
Record text

CISA ADP Vulnrichment

Inspect raw assertion
Field
container
Value
CISA ADP Vulnrichment
Source dateSource date omittedFirst observed by CASCAOriginal evidence ↗
PaperCutOriginal assertion
Record text

PaperCut MF/NG: Unsafe Dynamic Class Loading in Database Connector

Inspect raw assertion
Field
container
Value
PaperCut MF/NG: Unsafe Dynamic Class Loading in Database Connector
Source dateSource date omittedFirst observed by CASCAOriginal evidence ↗
FIRST EPSSOriginal assertion
EPSS score

63.53% probability · 99.21th percentile

Inspect raw assertion
Field
model_probability
Value
Probability 0.635320000000; percentile 0.992130000000
Source dateFirst observed by CASCAOriginal evidence ↗

Applicability

Cited product scope

Trace impact →

7 scope groups

PaperCut · source assertedPaperCutPaperCut MF/NGDirect source scope
Affected: 0 to before 24.1.10 (semver comparison)Affected: 25.0.0 to before 25.0.13 (semver comparison)Affected: 26.0.0 to before 26.0.5 (semver comparison)
Source-reported scope

Canonical linkage remains open; the cited source assertion is retained below.

Inspect raw assertion[{"status": "affected", "version": "0", "lessThan": "24.1.10", "versionType": "semver"}, {"status": "affected", "version": "25.0.0", "lessThan": "25.0.13", "versionType": "semver"}, {"status": "affected", "version": "26.0.0", "lessThan": "26.0.5", "versionType": "semver"}]
NVD · source assertedVendor unspecified by sourceProduct unspecified by sourceDirect source scope
Version bounds not stated
Scope supported
Inspect raw assertioncpe:2.3:a:papercut:papercut_mf:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*; end excluding 24.1.9
NVD · source assertedVendor unspecified by sourceProduct unspecified by sourceDirect source scope
Version bounds not stated
Scope supported
Inspect raw assertioncpe:2.3:a:papercut:papercut_mf:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*; start including 25.0.2; end excluding 25.0.12
NVD · source assertedVendor unspecified by sourceProduct unspecified by sourceDirect source scope
Version bounds not stated
Scope supported
Inspect raw assertioncpe:2.3:a:papercut:papercut_mf:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*; start including 26.0.2; end excluding 26.0.4
NVD · source assertedVendor unspecified by sourceProduct unspecified by sourceDirect source scope
Version bounds not stated
Scope supported
Inspect raw assertioncpe:2.3:a:papercut:papercut_ng:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*; end excluding 24.1.9
NVD · source assertedVendor unspecified by sourceProduct unspecified by sourceDirect source scope
Version bounds not stated
Scope supported
Inspect raw assertioncpe:2.3:a:papercut:papercut_ng:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*; start including 25.0.2; end excluding 25.0.12
NVD · source assertedVendor unspecified by sourceProduct unspecified by sourceDirect source scope
Version bounds not stated
Scope supported
Inspect raw assertioncpe:2.3:a:papercut:papercut_ng:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*; start including 26.0.2; end excluding 26.0.4

Affected-product evidence

Accepted scope and product mapping

0 canonical links · 2 source-reported links

Source-reported scopeSource-reported scope

Canonical linkage remains open; the cited source assertion is retained below.

Vendor specified only by source · Product specified only by source

Source class
Direct cve affected
Assertions
1
Mapping revision
cpe23-exact-mapping-v1
Observed cutoff
Oct 22, 2026
Retained assertion IDs
6af08d2d-096e-4c32-ae6a-48fcd9df399d
Source-reported scopeSource-reported scope

Canonical linkage remains open; the cited source assertion is retained below.

Vendor specified only by source · Product specified only by source

Source class
Nvd cpe vulnerable target
Assertions
6
Mapping revision
cpe23-exact-mapping-v1
Observed cutoff
Oct 22, 2026
Retained assertion IDs
01ff83ca-6f08-4bfc-a223-8b3025246bae1fce1cbb-557f-45d7-853d-160ea8b0de0966ed3726-f0ae-4fb3-b0fb-ab743da161037f9d2f90-0dea-4bcc-8a14-33acd1f56fd18907ce1b-8233-4cc6-9461-4982ceabd4d0c58c1518-24d0-4bff-846c-4ad03685149e

Assessments

CVSS by origin

9.1
NVDCVSS 3.1 · role Primary · priority eligiblevalid_matchCVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:H/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:H
9.4
CVE Program sourceCVSS 4.0 · role Secondary · priority eligiblevalid_matchCVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:H/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:H/SC:H/SI:H/SA:H/E:X/CR:X/IR:X/AR:X/MAV:X/MAC:X/MAT:X/MPR:X/MUI:X/MVC:X/MVI:X/MVA:X/MSC:X/MSI:X/MSA:X/S:X/AU:X/R:X/V:X/RE:X/U:X
9.4
PaperCutCVSS 4.0 · role unknown · display onlyDirect record assessment retained outside normalized eligibilityCVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:H/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:H/SC:H/SI:H/SA:H

Direct CVE/CNA normalized decisions

9.4Priority eligible

PaperCut

CVSS 4.0 · Primary · Original assertion · rank 1

CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:H/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:H/SC:H/SI:H/SA:H
Validation
Valid match
Recomputed
9.4
Decision reason
Evidence supported
Policy
casca-direct-cvss-eligibility-v1

Assessments are retained side by side under closed precedence. Cascade never averages CVSS.

Evidence boundaries

  • KEV membership is authoritative for the catalog, not proof of exposure in any environment.
  • EPSS is a dated model probability and not an individual-environment prediction.
  • Affected or fixed status applies only to the exact cited product and version scope; remaining scope stays source-scoped.
  • NVD-carried upstream facts remain derivative; independent corroboration requires a separately authored source.
  • Only NVD metrics validated under the generation-bound calculator are Public Priority eligible; direct CVE record metrics remain display-only.
  • NVD CVSS source eligibility is closed: NVD-authored, exact record-source, or registered same-CVE container origin; unmapped sources remain display-only.
  • Core replay supports the active and immediately prior generation; retrospective valid-at replay is deferred.
  • OSV aggregation and OSV-converted NVD material are not independent corroboration.
  • Red Hat facts are vendor assertions for the exact supplied products.
  • Nonmembership and not-yet-observed states are not proof of safety.