Evidence dossier

CVE-2026-85706

Improper Limitation of a Pathname to a Restricted Directory ('Path Traversal') in GitLab

Exploited in the wild (CISA KEV since Sep 11, 2026). GitLab reports CVSS 3.1 10.0. EPSS estimates 92.0% exploit likelihood as of Oct 21, 2026.

84.2–93.6Priority evidence range
Evidence through Oct 22, 2026, 6:07 PM UTC

As of Oct 22, 2026

Normalized restatement

GitLab has remediated an issue in GitLab CE/EE affecting all versions from 18.7 before 18.11.12, 19.0 before 19.0.9, 19.1 before 19.1.8, 19.2 before 19.2.6, and 19.3 before 19.3.2 that, under certain conditions, an unauthenticated user could have read arbitrary files from the GitLab server due to improper path confinement and missing authentication enforcement in the repository commits API.

State
PUBLISHED
Published
Sep 12, 2026
Updated
Sep 23, 2026
Evidence coverage
85%

Evidence chronology

What was known when

Download this view's receipt →
  1. Source dateFirst observed by CASCA
    CISA KEV

    Exploitation cataloged: GitLab Community Edition and Enterprise Edition Path Traversal Vulnerability

    Inspect raw assertion
    Field
    observed_exploitation
    Value
    GitLab Community Edition and Enterprise Edition Path Traversal Vulnerability
    Original evidence ↗
  2. Source dateSource date omittedFirst observed by CASCA
    CISA-ADP

    Record text: CISA ADP Vulnrichment

    Inspect raw assertion
    Field
    container
    Value
    CISA ADP Vulnrichment
    Original evidence ↗
  3. Source dateSource date omittedFirst observed by CASCA
    GitLab

    Record text: Improper Limitation of a Pathname to a Restricted Directory ('Path Traversal') in GitLab

    Inspect raw assertion
    Field
    container
    Value
    Improper Limitation of a Pathname to a Restricted Directory ('Path Traversal') in GitLab
    Original evidence ↗
  4. Source dateFirst observed by CASCA
    FIRST EPSS

    EPSS score: 91.95% probability · 99.82th percentile

    Inspect raw assertion
    Field
    model_probability
    Value
    Probability 0.919510000000; percentile 0.998210000000
    Original evidence ↗
ExploitationCatalog member

CISA KEV · catalog date Sep 11, 2026 · first observed Sep 11, 2026

Exploit likelihood91.95%

FIRST EPSS · score date Oct 21, 2026 · 99.8th percentile · first observed Oct 21, 2026

SeverityCVSS 10.0

GitLab · CVSS 3.1 · first observed Sep 24, 2026 · same-version scores align in this snapshot

Evidence detail

Source limits and decisions

Why each evidence state has this value

casca-unknown-reasons-v1
Exploitation statusLast verified source snapshot retained

The last verified source boundary remains in force for this claim.

Revision
evidence-policy-v1.1.0
Cutoff
Oct 22, 2026
Resolution
Review source contract
Exploit likelihoodEvidence supported

Eligible evidence is present for this bounded claim.

Revision
evidence-policy-v1.1.0
Cutoff
Oct 22, 2026
Resolution
None
Severity assessmentEvidence supported

Eligible evidence is present for this bounded claim.

Revision
casca-direct-cvss-eligibility-v1
Cutoff
Oct 22, 2026
Resolution
None
Affected productsSource-reported scope

The cited source assertion is retained while canonical product linkage remains open.

Revision
casca-factor-d-obligations-v1
Cutoff
Oct 22, 2026
Resolution
Resolve identity

Source comparison

Who said what

CISA KEVOriginal assertion
Exploitation cataloged

GitLab Community Edition and Enterprise Edition Path Traversal Vulnerability

Inspect raw assertion
Field
observed_exploitation
Value
GitLab Community Edition and Enterprise Edition Path Traversal Vulnerability
Source dateFirst observed by CASCAOriginal evidence ↗
CISA-ADPIndependent enrichment
Record text

CISA ADP Vulnrichment

Inspect raw assertion
Field
container
Value
CISA ADP Vulnrichment
Source dateSource date omittedFirst observed by CASCAOriginal evidence ↗
GitLabOriginal assertion
Record text

Improper Limitation of a Pathname to a Restricted Directory ('Path Traversal') in GitLab

Inspect raw assertion
Field
container
Value
Improper Limitation of a Pathname to a Restricted Directory ('Path Traversal') in GitLab
Source dateSource date omittedFirst observed by CASCAOriginal evidence ↗
FIRST EPSSOriginal assertion
EPSS score

91.95% probability · 99.82th percentile

Inspect raw assertion
Field
model_probability
Value
Probability 0.919510000000; percentile 0.998210000000
Source dateFirst observed by CASCAOriginal evidence ↗

Applicability

Cited product scope

Trace impact →

11 scope groups

GitLab · source assertedGitLabGitLabDirect source scope
Affected: 18.7 to before 18.11.12 (semver comparison)Affected: 19.0 to before 19.0.9 (semver comparison)Affected: 19.1 to before 19.1.8 (semver comparison)Affected: 19.2 to before 19.2.6 (semver comparison)Affected: 19.3 to before 19.3.2 (semver comparison)
Source-reported scope

Canonical linkage remains open; the cited source assertion is retained below.

Inspect raw assertion[{"status": "affected", "version": "18.7", "lessThan": "18.11.12", "versionType": "semver"}, {"status": "affected", "version": "19.0", "lessThan": "19.0.9", "versionType": "semver"}, {"status": "affected", "version": "19.1", "lessThan": "19.1.8", "versionType": "semver"}, {"status": "affected", "version": "19.2", "lessThan": "19.2.6", "versionType": "semver"}, {"status": "affected", "version": "19.3", "lessThan": "19.3.2", "versionType": "semver"}]
NVD · source assertedVendor unspecified by sourceProduct unspecified by sourceDirect source scope
Version bounds not stated
Scope supported
Inspect raw assertioncpe:2.3:a:gitlab:gitlab:*:*:*:*:community:*:*:*; start including 18.7.0; end excluding 18.11.12
NVD · source assertedVendor unspecified by sourceProduct unspecified by sourceDirect source scope
Version bounds not stated
Scope supported
Inspect raw assertioncpe:2.3:a:gitlab:gitlab:*:*:*:*:community:*:*:*; start including 19.0.0; end excluding 19.0.9
NVD · source assertedVendor unspecified by sourceProduct unspecified by sourceDirect source scope
Version bounds not stated
Scope supported
Inspect raw assertioncpe:2.3:a:gitlab:gitlab:*:*:*:*:community:*:*:*; start including 19.1.0; end excluding 19.1.8
NVD · source assertedVendor unspecified by sourceProduct unspecified by sourceDirect source scope
Version bounds not stated
Scope supported
Inspect raw assertioncpe:2.3:a:gitlab:gitlab:*:*:*:*:community:*:*:*; start including 19.2.0; end excluding 19.2.6
NVD · source assertedVendor unspecified by sourceProduct unspecified by sourceDirect source scope
Version bounds not stated
Scope supported
Inspect raw assertioncpe:2.3:a:gitlab:gitlab:*:*:*:*:community:*:*:*; start including 19.3.0; end excluding 19.3.2
NVD · source assertedVendor unspecified by sourceProduct unspecified by sourceDirect source scope
Version bounds not stated
Scope supported
Inspect raw assertioncpe:2.3:a:gitlab:gitlab:*:*:*:*:enterprise:*:*:*; start including 18.7.0; end excluding 18.11.12
NVD · source assertedVendor unspecified by sourceProduct unspecified by sourceDirect source scope
Version bounds not stated
Scope supported
Inspect raw assertioncpe:2.3:a:gitlab:gitlab:*:*:*:*:enterprise:*:*:*; start including 19.0.0; end excluding 19.0.9
NVD · source assertedVendor unspecified by sourceProduct unspecified by sourceDirect source scope
Version bounds not stated
Scope supported
Inspect raw assertioncpe:2.3:a:gitlab:gitlab:*:*:*:*:enterprise:*:*:*; start including 19.1.0; end excluding 19.1.8
NVD · source assertedVendor unspecified by sourceProduct unspecified by sourceDirect source scope
Version bounds not stated
Scope supported
Inspect raw assertioncpe:2.3:a:gitlab:gitlab:*:*:*:*:enterprise:*:*:*; start including 19.2.0; end excluding 19.2.6
NVD · source assertedVendor unspecified by sourceProduct unspecified by sourceDirect source scope
Version bounds not stated
Scope supported
Inspect raw assertioncpe:2.3:a:gitlab:gitlab:*:*:*:*:enterprise:*:*:*; start including 19.3.0; end excluding 19.3.2

Affected-product evidence

Accepted scope and product mapping

0 canonical links · 2 source-reported links

Source-reported scopeSource-reported scope

Canonical linkage remains open; the cited source assertion is retained below.

Vendor specified only by source · Product specified only by source

Source class
Direct cve affected
Assertions
1
Mapping revision
cpe23-exact-mapping-v1
Observed cutoff
Oct 22, 2026
Retained assertion IDs
ff038957-9350-4f2a-98ce-bfb8ea2ef587
Source-reported scopeSource-reported scope

Canonical linkage remains open; the cited source assertion is retained below.

Vendor specified only by source · Product specified only by source

Source class
Nvd cpe vulnerable target
Assertions
10
Mapping revision
cpe23-exact-mapping-v1
Observed cutoff
Oct 22, 2026
Retained assertion IDs
10798705-bf98-442a-9e6f-3732547f49372cddadab-500d-48bb-9c97-bfcfbab4207053a5b98c-9887-453b-bf96-a4917cf0a71654248609-551a-4193-888e-c38e29af4de7907bd28d-2fc1-429b-9bed-eea3845a1692a7b700f0-f628-4fec-b095-314efd3c11edc4a741b1-6533-434f-8c48-b58a8586d789e8c356b0-1e7c-43e1-ba33-60682b3043bcf981ec46-6e28-4ed6-a966-5a493a6e62a7faab3fba-1d46-4d5a-851a-0ae175d81285

Assessments

CVSS by origin

10.0
cve@gitlab.comCVSS 3.1 · role Secondary · priority eligiblevalid_matchCVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:N
10.0
GitLabCVSS 3.1 · role unknown · display onlyDirect record assessment retained outside normalized eligibilityCVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:N

Direct CVE/CNA normalized decisions

10.0Priority eligible

GitLab

CVSS 3.1 · Primary · Original assertion · rank 1

CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:N
Validation
Valid match
Recomputed
10.0
Decision reason
Evidence supported
Policy
casca-direct-cvss-eligibility-v1

Assessments are retained side by side under closed precedence. Cascade never averages CVSS.

Evidence boundaries

  • KEV membership is authoritative for the catalog, not proof of exposure in any environment.
  • EPSS is a dated model probability and not an individual-environment prediction.
  • Affected or fixed status applies only to the exact cited product and version scope; remaining scope stays source-scoped.
  • NVD-carried upstream facts remain derivative; independent corroboration requires a separately authored source.
  • Only NVD metrics validated under the generation-bound calculator are Public Priority eligible; direct CVE record metrics remain display-only.
  • NVD CVSS source eligibility is closed: NVD-authored, exact record-source, or registered same-CVE container origin; unmapped sources remain display-only.
  • Core replay supports the active and immediately prior generation; retrospective valid-at replay is deferred.
  • OSV aggregation and OSV-converted NVD material are not independent corroboration.
  • Red Hat facts are vendor assertions for the exact supplied products.
  • Nonmembership and not-yet-observed states are not proof of safety.